Announcements Internal Grants & Awards Funding

Research Insights

2020-2021 UGA Research Awards – DEADLINE EXTENDED

This extension applies to the following research awards: Postdoctoral Research Awards, Robert C. Anderson Memorial Award (for recent graduate students) and the Faculty Research Awards.

The Office of Research encourages the nominations of deserving scholars for the 2020-2021 UGA Research Awards.

In light of the unique demands on faculty and departmental administrators this fall semester, Office of Research has extended the deadline for submission of nominations beyond the original date of November 1, 2020.  The new deadline is January 25, 2021, consistent with the deadlines for awards from the provost’s office.  We hope that this additional time allows all deserving faculty, postdocs and graduate students the opportunity to be nominated.

This extension applies to the following research awards:

  • Faculty Research Awards:
    • Early Career Scholar Awards,
    • Creative Research Medals,
    • Creative Research Awards,
    • Distinguished Research Professorships
  • Postdoctoral Research Awards (postdocs) and
  • Robert C. Anderson Memorial Award (recent graduate students)

Faculty Research Award nominations are processed through Deans’ offices; please check with your Dean’s office for internal college procedures and deadline.  

The Postdoctoral Research Award nominations must initiate from the faculty mentor/supervisor of the postdoc and include a cover letter from the department head, dean or center/institute director supporting the nomination.  The Robert C. Anderson Memorial Award nominations are made by the nominee’s major professor and department head.

The guidelines for the awards have been updated for 2020-2021 (“Revised 4-2020” should appear in the bottom left corner of the guidelines).Please check the website for the most up-to-date information and forms for our Internal Grants and Awards ( and email if you have any questions.

The Office of Research strongly supports diversity in all its programs. We encourage nominations of women and underrepresented minorities for these awards.