Research Safety

Research Safety Committee

The Research Safety Committee (RSC) guides the development and implementation of campus-wide Environmental Health & Safety policies, programs, and services to reduce safety risks in research, teaching, and public service laboratories.  The RSC is a key element of the University’s Comprehensive Environmental Health and Safety Management System as implemented in the Academic Affairs Policies 6.01 and 6.02.

The committee works in conjunction with other institutional committees and units to establish and enact safe laboratory practices in the Chemical and Laboratory Safety Manual. In addition, the RSC provides oversight of the laboratory inspection process, reviews and recommends training programs that promote lab safety, and investigates laboratory accidents and issues of non-compliance.

To contact the committee directly, email

Committee Charter

Name of RSC Member or code Position Title
John StickneyDistinguished Research Professor – Chemistry
RSC Chair
1Associate Dean for Research & Professor – Public Health
2Professor - Microbiology
3Associate Professor – Veterinary Medicine
4Associate Professor – Pharmaceutical & Biomedical Science
5Associate Professor – Veterinary Medicine
6Associate Professor – Engineering
7Professor – Chemistry
8Associate Dean for Research & Professor – Forestry & Natural Resources
9Academic Professional – Chemistry
Chris KingAssociate Vice-President for Research
John McCollumAssociate Vice-President for Environmental Safety
Bill MegathlinDirector, Information Systems Support
Esequiel BarreraDirector, Office of Research Safety
K. Brandon FoskeySenior Safety & Compliance Officer/RSC Coordinator

Note: Chris King, John McCollum, and Bill Megathlin are non-voting ex-officio members.