Innovation Gateway hosts ninth annual Innovator’s Luncheon honoring UGA Innovators

More than 55 UGA innovators were recognized at the ninth annual Innovator’s Luncheon, a celebratory event held by Innovation Gateway each spring to commemorate the researchers participating in UGA’s mission to move new discoveries into the marketplace.

In 2017, the University of Georgia Research Foundation, Inc., was granted a total of 36 U.S. patents naming 54 UGA researchers as inventors on 24 utility patents, 11 plant patents, 1 plant variety protection certificate, and 7 trademarks. UGA research and technology also served as the foundation for five new start-up companies formed in 2017.

Other UGA innovators at the luncheon received special recognition. Biao He, a Georgia Research Alliance Distinguished Investigator and the Fred C. Davison Distinguished University Chair in Veterinary Medicine, was recognized as the 2017 Inventor of the Year. Rich Meagher, Distinguished Research Professor of Genetics, was recognized as the 2017 Entrepreneur of the Year. Innovation Gateway celebrated the 10-year anniversary for the 2007 Inventor of the Year by awarding Bob Ivarie, Emeritus Professor of Genetics, with a framed display highlighting his innovative research.

Inventors and entrepreneurs were gifted a UGA-monogrammed trunk organizer. UGA researchers who were awarded their first issued patent in 2017 also received a commemorative “UGA INVNTR” license plate.