University of Georgia

2021 Research Awards winners announced

University of Georgia Distinguished Researchers Deb Mohnen, Cas Mudde, Nik Heynen, Andrew Zawacki and Ping Ma
Andrew Zawacki (center), Debra Mohnen, Cas Mudde, Ping Ma and Nik Heynen (clockwise from top left) were named 2021 Distinguished Research Professors and will be honored April 21 during a virtual celebration held as part of Honors Week. (Submitted photos)

The 42nd annual Research Awards will be presented during Honors Week as part of UGA’s Virtual Celebration of Academic Excellence, premiering April 21 at 2 p.m. on the university’s YouTube channel. Managed by the Office of Research, this year’s Research Awards are combined with teaching and service awards in one, university-wide virtual celebration.

Given annually, the awards recognize faculty, postdoctoral researchers and graduate students for excellence and innovation in research, scholarly creativity, technology commercialization and entrepreneurship.

The Office of Research is pleased to announce this year’s recipients:

“UGA research is at the forefront of discovery across the globe, and the Research Awards recognize our outstanding scientists, humanists and creative scholars who have made significant contributions to their fields,” said David Lee, vice president for research. “Their work helps to improve our state, our nation and the world, and I am proud to recognize their dedication and accomplishments with these awards.”

The Virtual Celebration of Academic Excellence, hosted by the Office of the Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost, will honor the winners of the 2020-21 awards for teaching excellence, research and public service.

Honors Week includes a series of events that recognize the successes of UGA students, faculty, staff and alumni across the university’s missions. Honors Week is an annual UGA tradition dating back to the 1930s, when then-Chancellor S.V. Sanford dedicated a day to recognize outstanding students. In 2011, the event was expanded to include events recognizing faculty, staff and alumni.

Presentation of this year’s Research Awards begins at the 17:00 mark of the video.