The Office of Research announced the winners of the 43rd annual Research Awards at a banquet on April 21, 2022, part of UGA’s Honors Week activities. Given annually, the awards recognize faculty, postdoctoral researchers and graduate students for excellence and innovation in research, scholarly creativity, technology commercialization and entrepreneurship. The Research Awards program is sponsored by the University of Georgia Research Foundation.

The full list of winners:

Robert C. Anderson Memorial Awards
Hoang Luong
Grace Cushman

James L. Carmon Award
Jason Terry
Benjamin Taylor (Honorable Mention)

Postdoctoral Research Award
Alexandre Marand

Team Impact Award
Team RISE: Brian Bledsoe, Jon Calabria, Shana Jone, Don Nelson, J. Scott Pippin, Mark Risse

Entrepreneur of the Year Award
Kevin McCully

Inventor of the Year Award
Naola Ferguson-Noel

Early Career Scholar: Michael F. Adams Award
Emily Koh

Early Career Scholar: Fred C. Davison Award
Sheng Li
Caterina Villari

Early Career Scholar: Charles B. Knapp Award
Man Kit “Karlo” Lei

Creative Research Medals
Douda Bensasson
Jamie Kreiner
Douglas Menke
Gregory Strauss
Susanne Ullrich

Albert Christ-Janer Creative Research Award
David Starkweather

Lamar Dodd Creative Research Award
James E. “Jeb” Byers
Y. George Zheng

William A. Owens Creative Research Award
Shane Singh

Distinguished Research Professors
Lillian Eby
Amy Rosemond
Victor Thompson
Esther van der Knaap
Lance Wells