Announcements Compliance, Integrity & Safety

Research Insights

Travel, Shipping, and Activities involving Belarus, Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Russia, Syria or Ukraine

Get help with travel, shipping and activities involving countries where the U.S. has imposed economic sanctions or trade embargoes.

The U.S. government imposes comprehensive economic sanctions and trade embargoes on Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Syria and the Crimea, Donetsk, and Luhansk regions of Ukraine. These restrictions limit nearly all imports and exports of technology, goods and services involving those countries. Services are very broadly defined and include prohibitions on participating in academic conferences in Iran and tourist travel to Cuba, for example. Travel to North Korea by U.S. citizens is, for all intents and purposes, prohibited.

Additionally, the U.S. has recently subjected Belarus and Russia to significantly expanded export controls and economic sanctions. While not comprehensively sanctioned, both countries are subject to significant controls on the import and export of technology, goods,and services. 

China and Venezuela are also subject to heighted controls on end-users in those countries. 

It is particularly important that activities involving these high-risk countries receive export control review. UGA personnel may contact Dan Runge, in the Office of Export Control, at or 2-4188 to discuss travel, shipping and activities involving these countries.