Announcements Awards & Honors

Research Insights

National Academy of Sciences Awards: 2021 Call for Nominations

The National Academy of Sciences is now accepting nominationsĀ onlineĀ for awards.

The National Academy of Sciences is now accepting nominations online for the awards listed below. NAS membership is not required to nominate candidates or to be considered for an award. Please help spread the word that the nomination process is underway! More information, including nomination instructions, eligibility requirements, and more can be found here.

Deadline: October 5, 2020.

Arctowski Medal (solar physics)
Gilbert Morgan Smith Medal (marine or freshwater algae)
Henry Draper Medal (astronomical physics)
J. Lawrence Smith Medal (investigations of meteoric bodies)
James Prize in Science and Technology Integration
Michael and Sheila Held Prize (computer science, specifically combinatorial/discrete optimization)
NAS Award for Chemistry in Service to Society
NAS Award for Scientific Discovery (2021 fields: astronomy, materials science, or physics)
NAS Award in Chemical Sciences
NAS Award in Molecular Biology (young investigator)
NAS Award in the Evolution of Earth and Life- Mary Clark Thompson Medal (geology and paleontology)
NAS Prize in Food and Agriculture Sciences
NAS Public Welfare Medal
Pradel Research Award (neuroscience; mid-career neuroscientists)
Richard Lounsbery Award (biology and medicine)
Selman A. Waksman Award in Microbiology
Troland Research Awards (psychology; early-career researchers)
William and Katherine Estes Award (behavioral research relevant to prevention of nuclear war)

Questions? Contact