Awards & Honors: American Association for the History of Medicine (AAHM) Awards

The American Association for the History of Medicine (AAHM) invites applications for its annual awards program. These honors promote and encourage research, study, writing, and interest in the history of medicine including the history of public health, dentistry, pharmacy, nursing and allied arts, sciences, and professions.

These awards are considered Prestigious and Highly Prestigious by the National Research Council (NRC). To view a full list of the AAHM’s awards, click here.

Genevieve Miller Lifetime Achievement Award
Highly Prestigious

  • Link:
  • Deadline for nominations: October 31, 2017
  • Summary
    • The American Association for the History of Medicine established the lifetime achievement award in 1988; the first recipients were Saul Jarcho, Lester King, and Owsei Temkin. The award was named for Genevieve Miller in 2014 to honor of her contributions to the history of medicine and the Association. The award is given annually to a member of the Association who has retired from regular institutional affiliation or practice, with a distinguished record of support for the history of medicine over many years, and who has made continuing scholarly contributions of a distinguished nature. Elizabeth Watkins, chair of the Genevieve Miller Lifetime Achievement Award Committee, welcomes nominations for the award, at the following e-mail address: Nominations for this award should include at least one letter of nomination outlining the nominee’s continuing contributions to the field and a curriculum vitae or other biographical information.
  • Electronic submissions are preferred.
  • Miller Lifetime Achievement Award Committee, 2017-18
    • Elizabeth Watkins, Chair
  • Past Lifetime Achievement Award Winners

William H. Welch Medal

  • Link:
  • Deadline for nominations: October 31, 2017
  • Summary
    • The William H. Welch Medal is awarded to one or more authors of a book (excluding edited volumes) of outstanding scholarly merit in the field of medical history published during the five calendar years preceding the award. Hence, books published during 2012–2016 inclusively will be eligible for the Medal to be presented at the annual meeting of the American Association for the History of Medicine, in Los Angeles, CA, May 10-13, 2018. No author who has previously won the Welch Medal is eligible for the award. A complete list of previous winners is available here.
    • The award is named in honor of a major American figure in the history of medicine and public health, who was also one of the first faculty members at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. The Medal was first presented in 1950 to Henry Sigerist.   The chair of the 2017-2018 Welch Medal Committee Johanna Schoen welcomes suggestions of books to consider for the award. Publishers nominating a book must send a copy to each member of the committee.
  • To nominate a book and to obtain mailing addresses of all committee members, contact:
    • Johanna Schoen
      Department of History
      Rutgers University
      111 Van Dyck Hall
      16 Seminary Place
      New Brunswick, NJ 08901
  • Previously nominated eligible books must be re-nominated; they will not be considered automatically.
  • Welch Medal Committee 2017-2018
    • Johanna Schoen, Chair
      Stephen Casper
      Andrew Simpson
      Elizabeth Toon
  • Past Welch Medal Winners

Worth Estes Prize

  • Link:
  • Deadline for nominations: January 19, 2018
  • Summary
    • This award was established in honor of J. Worth Estes, M.D., in recognition of his many invaluable contributions to the American Association for the History of Medicine and to scholarship in the history of medicine. The award is made annually for the best published paper in the history of pharmacology during the previous two years, whether appearing in a journal or a book collection of papers. The choice of topic reflects Worth Estes’ long tenure as Professor of Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics at Boston University and his own scholarship in the history of pharmacology.
    • For the purpose of this award, the history of pharmacology will be defined broadly to include ancient and traditional materia medica, folk medicines, herbal medicines, the pharmaceuticals of the modern era, pharmaceutics, and the like. It shall encompass the discovery of medicaments, basic investigations about them, their characteristics and properties, their preparation and marketing, and their therapeutic applications.
    • While the committee will be monitoring relevant journals and books where such papers might appear, they welcome nominations of papers that would be eligible for consideration. The nomination should consist of a letter citing the work nominated along with a copy of the paper. For the current award, candidate papers will be those published in 2016 and 2017. Papers in languages other than English should be accompanied by a translation or detailed precis.  Nominations should be directed to the Chair of the Committee, Marcia Meldrum meldrum@history.ucla.eduand must be postmarked or submitted electronically via e-mail (which is the preferred method of submission) no later than 19 January 2018.
    • The winner will be invited to attend the 2018 meeting of the Association, May 10-13, 2018 in Los Angeles, CA where the award will be conferred. Reasonable travel expenses for the winner will be provided. As a result of a generous contribution in honor of Worth Estes from a member of the Association, the award will be accompanied by a $500 check.
  • Worth Estes Prize Winners
  • 2017-2018 Estes Award Committee
    • Marcia Meldrum, Chair
      Cynthia Connolly
      Stephen Greenberg
      Sergio Sismondo


For questions or more information, contact the AAHM here.