Awards & Honors: MLA Publication Awards

The Modern Language Association (MLA) is currently accepting nominations for its MLA Publication Awards program. These awards honor exceptional works of literary history, literary criticism, philology, and literary theory, as well as those dealing with literature and other arts and disciplines.

A note on eligibility: An author who is not a member of the MLA at the time of publication may become eligible to compete by joining the association before the deadline for the prize for which they are competing.

This announcement highlights awards that are considered Prestigious by the National Research Council (NRC). Please click here for a complete list of all MLA Competitions.

Lois Roth Award for a Translation

  • Deadline: April 1, 2017
  • Link:
  • Description: For an outstanding translation into English of a book-length literary work.
  • Eligibility: Translations published in 2016; translators need not be members of the MLA.
  • How to Submit: To enter a translation into the competition, authors or publishers should send six copies along with brief biographical and professional data about translator, a total of 12–15 pages of the text in its original language taken from the beginning, middle, and end of the work, and a letter identifying the work, the translator, and the date of publication to the Lois Roth Award, Modern Language Association, 85 Broad Street, suite 500, New York, NY 10004-2434.
  • Note: Works submitted for this prize will also automatically be considered for the Scaglione Prize for a Translation of a Literary Work. Definitions and criteria are the same for both awards. Separate submissions are not required.
  • Past Winners: Click here to view past winners of this prize

Kenneth W. Mildenberger Prize

Katherine Singer Kovacs Prize

William Sanders Scarborough Prize

Contact the MLA office of programs at 646-576-5141 or