Awards & Honors: AHA Award for Scholarly Distinction

The American Historical Association (AHA) invites members to submit nominations for its annual Award for Scholarly Distinction, a lifetime achievement award for senior historians in the United States.

The Association recognizes a wide variety of distinguished historical work, which can take the form of an exceptional book in the field, distinguished teaching and mentoring in the classroom, and even on film. Since 1896 the Association has conferred over a thousand awards. The names, publications, and projects of those who received these awards are a catalogue of the best work produced by the historical profession.

This award is considered Highly Prestigious by the National Research Council (NRC).

Deadline: April 1

Selection Criteria
Nominators must be current members of the AHA. Recipients of the award must be

  • senior historians of the highest distinction who have spent the bulk of their professional careers in the United States
  • of emeritus rank, if from academic life, or equivalent standing otherwise

Nomination Materials
A complete nomination package (maximum 10 pages long) will include the following:

  • A letter of nomination that contains specific details addressing the criteria listed above.
  • A two- to three-page CV of the nominee with a summary of major publications and career highlights.
  • Additional letters of support can also be submitted, provided the entire package does not exceed 10 pages in length.

Submission Process
Nomination materials should be sent electronically to, and include “Award for Scholarly Distinction: [Nominee’s Name]” in the subject line.

Past Recipients
Previous awards have gone to 77 eminent scholars.