Innovation Gateway hosts eighth annual Innovators Luncheon recognizing UGA inventors and entrepreneurs

At the eighth annual Innovators Luncheon held March 31st, Innovation Gateway honored, recognized and thanked the UGA faculty, students and staff who contributed to UGA’s technology and startup program in 2016.

Last year, 46 patents naming UGA personnel as inventors were awarded to the UGA Research Foundation, Inc.: five plant variety protection certificates, 13 plant patents and 28 utility patents, and seven startup companies were formed by UGA faculty and entrepreneurs.

Several other researchers were also recognized for their help in furthering the University’s mission. Mark Jackwood, the J.R. Glisson Professor of Avian Medicine and head of the department of population health, was recognized as the 2016 Inventor of the Year, and Valentine Nzengung, professor of environmental geochemistry and founder of UGA startup company MuniRem Environmental, was recognized as the 2016 Entrepreneur of the Year. Michael Adang, a professor in the department of biochemistry and molecular biology and recipient of the 2006 Inventor of the Year award, received a framed plaque showcasing his contributions to the UGA research enterprise.

Three UGA inventors received accolades last month. Roberto Docampo, Distinguished Research Professor of Cellular Biology and Barbara and Sanford Orkin/Georgia Research Alliance Eminent Scholar, was named the UGA recipient of the 2017 Southeastern Conference (SEC) Faculty Achievement Award. Rick Tarleton, Distinguished Research Professor and Athletic Association Distinguished Professor in Biological Sciences in the Franklin College of Arts and Sciences, was named Regents’ Professor at UGA. Lastly, Gregory H. Robinson, University of Georgia Foundation Distinguished Professor of Chemistry, was named a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry, one of the highest honors bestowed upon chemists.